Frosh/Soph City Champs Recap

Thursday, March 14 2019 - Plainfield f/S City Championship

When Coach Holler from North brings all the athletes together it sets the tone for a great meet. The teams are ready to compete at their best but also build one another up. We had some very strong performances on the night.

The race of the night was Tommy Adelmann who laid in waiting for the first 8 laps of the Gauntlet Mile, only to unleash a furious kick the final 150 to sprint to a win by fractions of a second. One of the things Tommy and I talked about pre-race was trusting his closing speed but also having to stay in a position to be able to use that speed effectively. Tommy executed that plan to perfection.

The other victory was the 4x800 relay. Richard Todd set the tone as he came through the first 400 a few strides behind the leader only to really crank up the pace the second 400 to take a commanding leading, a lead that each athlete would continue to build on. Patrick Todd ran his best split of the year on the second leg, Mike Forbear followed it up with a PR split on the 3rd leg, Aiden Haughian on the anchor looked to be losing a bit of the lead as a South runner closed in, but the last 250 Aiden brought down the hammer to close out the win with a PR leg as well.

Cam Henderson started the meet strong with a 41 foot throw in the shot, that throw was good enough for second place. The rest of the throws crew had a big group of PRs. Gabe Carrero, Gavin Schryer, Mitch Hunter, and Reese Theobald

Paul DeAvila also ran to a 2nd place finish in the 800. Pauly D hung back the first 400 and then exploded to pass 4 guys in the second half of the race to finish 2nd overall with a big sprint finish.

The 4x200 and 4x400 both finished 3rd overall with Connor O'Leary, Lucciano Blandino, Aaron Larkins Jr., and Anthony Nieves all running great legs in the 4x200. The Todd brothers joined Anthony and Aaron on the 4x400.

Other PRs on the night:

Kyle Schick 3200

O'Leary 200

Nieves 200

Patrick Kacena 800

Aaron Wyckoff 1600

Dan Hale 1600 (Sub 5!)

Justin Irizarry 1600 (first sub 6)

Henry Matson 1600

Matthew Muhlig 1600